Entuity distinguishes between a closed incident, an expired incident and a deleted incident:
- A closed incident indicates the cause of the incident is no longer true, however if the cause recurs the incident is re-opened. A closed incident will remain available for review for seven days until it expires.
- An expired incident indicates that the closed incident’s expiry period has completed. The incident is available for seven days for review, but if the original cause of the raising of the incident recurs the incident is not re-opened, a new incident is opened.
- A deleted incident is not in the system.
There are three ways of closing incidents:
- Aging out of the incident. An incident may have a set age out. For example, by default after 3600 seconds the Device Sensor Non-Operational incident ages out and its status changes to closed.
- A closing event. For example, the Device Sensor Non-Operational incident is closed when the Device Sensor Non-Operational Cleared event is raised.
- Manual closing of the incident. From the Incidents dashboard, users can close an incident, give a reason for the closure and also immediately expire the incident (see below).
To manually close an incident:
- Click on an incident in the incident list.
- Click on Close. The Close Incident dialog will open.
- Enter an Annotation - a reason for closing the incident.
- The incident can be expired immediately if Expire the incident(s) immediately it enabled. Note: Incidents cannot be reopened once they are expired.